Leaving Auckland

(June 25-ish)
My coworker and I have been sleeping in a trailer behind a hostel. The floors are muddy and the sheets are dirty. Our roommates are some spiders in the cupboards. The last tenant used it to deal meth and smoke in privacy. But the worst part about it is I can feel the fucking springs inside the mattress. They haven’t much spring left in them anymore.
Sunday morning and are stay is over. I have no where else to go. No plans made. I don’t want to extend my stay. The Lion’s Cup is in town and every bed in Auckland is booked, prices are up. I’ve been talking to some WWOOF hosts. Perhaps I should finalize with them? Either way I’m leaving now.
Well, I’m leaving at 12:50 P.M. (June 25th). I’m taking the bus to Whangarei. I use my time between breakfast and the bus leaving to send some last minute couchsurfing requests. Hopefully someone replies.
I walk from the hostel to the Parnell Train Station. It’s first uphill. Then downhill. Then back up the hill again. The bus stop is only one stop away. Britomart.
While sitting on the bus I get a message on the Couchsurfing App from Alex. He has agreed to host me and will be picking me up at the bus stop. That’s fantastic.
Alex is a 74 year old New Zealander. He has hosted over 360 couchsurfers in the past few years. He says yes to everyone who sends him a request.
I’ve spent the last few days with Alex. The WWOOF host in Whangarei never replied to me. Alex didn’t mind me staying. We’ve been hanging out watching movies in the evening. Been pretty relaxing since leaving the hostel.
The other day Alex took me around town. I saw some waterfall, I saw some middle-aged Kauri trees, and I pet and hand feed a kiwi.
I’m leaving today. I got a bus up to Taipa. I’m heading to WWOOF up there.
20170626_100553

I don’t remember the name of this waterfall

20170626_110148

Big ol’ Kauri Tree

20170626_122217

I forgot to mention my host, Alex, and I found these four puppies abandoned on the side of the road

20170626_154543

Me with a Kiwi

20170627_104203

Whangarei

20170629_141206

Whangarei

20170629_210216

Like an idiot, I totally spaced on taking a photo of myself with the Alex! 😦 Here is a pic of the living “Paris When It Sizzles” on the screen

 

Leave a Reply

