Woodland Critter Christmas

After having such a great time with the haunted house, my friends and I decided that we wanted to keep the Halloween spirit  alive going into Christmas!

We thought it would be a great idea to build the Woodland Christmas Critters from South Park Season Eight, Episode Fourteen.

We used leftover wood and paint from the haunted house. And dumpster dived a few extra pieces of plywood.

The first thing we build was the manger. It took about two hours. Later we added a roof and some walls.

20161117_194403

To make the critters I printed them at work on my blueprint printer. It was pretty easy.

20161125_163836

We cut them out, traced them on to the wood, and used a jig saw to cut them out. We then painted them all white. When the paint dried we used a blade to cut the detail lines throw the paper onto the wood so we knew where to paint.

My buddy Ted and I did all the construction and almost all of the critter cutting. But we had a painting party where a bunch of people came to help paint. It was truly an international project. We had a representative from Japan, Iran, Norway, and even a friend from the distant land of New Jersey.

I was able to barrow some paint. But I also purchased some cheap messed up colors from Home Depot. I spent $16 on paint. We are super proud of the deer because we mixed paints together to make all the colors.

I am really enjoying the time that I spend working on projects and problem-solving anything that comes up. These projects are making me happy and giving me something positive to think about.

We put the critters out in the front yard, but it was missing something. So we made a Santa too!

And here is the final product in the front yard:

20161210_133622

Leave a Reply

