Looking Back on 2014

At the time of writing, 2014 is over on most of the Earth already, but not on the West Coast of North America. I am still in 2014 reflecting on everything that happened this year. I have to say, 2014 was actually a pretty big year for me. A lot of transformation took place. While it was happening it didn’t seem like much but looking back it was huge. Where do I even start.

I finally finished at community college. Two Associates Degrees and a too many years later and I am done! I was held up by a budget cuts cutting a required course for my degree to every other semester. I was pretty upset about it at the time. Looking back it worked out not so bad. That was theĀ semesterĀ that I started all the business courses to transfer. I was able to power through all the required business classes in a year. 2014 was the year that I transferred to San Diego State University’s College of Business Administration. That wasn’t the only transfer I made in 2014 though.
Years of not having a enough money to afford rent in San Diego kept my girlfriend and I at our parents house. This year we rented a room together with some good friends of mine from community college. It’s been working out pretty well. I’m glad we finally did it. There are rabbits, chickens, cats (including the most adorable little kitten), and a dog.
Screech and Lagunitas

This my friend Screech. He drinks too much.

TransferringĀ to, what I consider a “real” college has required some changes to. I had to quit my job at the golf course in order to focus on studying. There was just no way I could wake up to go to work at 4 a.m. after going to bed at 2. I thought this would allow to me spend more time getting involved with campus organizations.Ā Regrettably, it did not as my actual class schedule got in the way of that.
One group I was able to get involved in was Toast Masters. If you don’t know what Toaster Masters is an organization that is all over the world that helps people become better public speakers. I finished the program andĀ receivedĀ a Certificate. But, the Toaster Masters program is not something you start and finish. It’s something you continue because in order to be good atĀ publicĀ speaking you need to constantly be practicing. I plan onĀ continuingĀ to be active in Toast Masters moving forward.
There is something else too that I would like to mention that had some amount of importance to me. I read The Four Hour Work Week. This changed the way I think about a lot of things. There were lots of things I never would have thought I wanted to do. I knew I wanted to travel and travel extensively but I was not sure how people were paying for it. The Four Hour Work Week Ā showed me that it was possible.Ā That book inspired me an I opened up my first online business retail store. More about that in a later post.
Maybe I had a great year because I was born in the year of the horse and 2014 was the horse. Maybe I had a great year because because the digits of my birthday and year add to twenty three, the age I was for most of 2014 (Numerology). Or maybe I just kicked ass this year, because I don’t really believe in that stuff. Regardless I have plans to make 2015 even better! Stay tuned.
Happy New Year Everyone! Make it a great one!
Leave a Reply

